RSS Feed

DIY Oatmeal Bath for Eczema or Sensitive Skin

I don’t know why but I still picture myself in a giant bowl of oatmeal every time I think of taking an oatmeal bath. The thought of the slimy stuff all over me grosses me out! LOL But this is not what we are talking about here. I have had eczema my whole life. Luckily it really isn’t that bad for me any more. I just get a couple of flare up a year. My 3-year-old son however has really bad eczema and treating it can be a pain. We use all the free and clear products and I try to keep his skin moisturized but in the winter when the air is really dry it is HORRIBLE! I thought when we first ┬ámoved here to Oklahoma from Las Vegas (where it is dry all the time) that we were saved. In the first month his eczema cleared right up and I think it was the humid air. As soon as winter hit it got pretty bad again. One of his favorite things to do is take a bath and as you may know taking to many baths or showers can lead to really dry skin. So, I used to buy him Aveeno Oatmeal bath powder to put in his bath. One day by husband forgot to pick it up at the store and my son’s skin was really flaring up so I thought what if I put oatmeal in the bath?? Well I was a little worried that it wouldn’t work out or we would have issues with it going down the drain so I thought maybe if I ground it up it would work. So I searched the web and found out I was right. There were many blogs talking about just this. So here is what I did.

First you need.

  • Some oatmeal. Any kind will do. regular, quick oats, instant
  • a blender or grinder of some sort
  • a spoon, scooper, or measuring cup
  • an air tight jar

I used one of those personal blenders. It has a grinder blade attachment. Since I used this I had to make it in a few batches to fill the jar but it still took about 2 min.

I filled my cup to the fill line with the oats. (it’s not filled all the way in the pic)

twisted on the top and ground till it was a powdery consistency.

 

If you aren’t sure if you got it right or not take about a cup of water and put a teaspoon of the powder in. When you stir it should look milky white or beige like this.

Once you have the right consistency just fill the jar to the top or however much you want.

 

Then just store it in your bathroom with a scooper of some sort. Depending on how much water you probably want bout 1/4-3/4 cup of powder. Just add till the water looks right. I use an old coffee scoop and just add 3-4 scoops. Sometimes more.

 

A little tip. Once the water drains you will have some remnants of the powder on the bottom of the tub. I just use a cup filled with water to rinse it down the drain.

Well, there you have it! An 8 pack of the Aveeno is $7.99 at Walgreens and that big canister of oats I bought was 2 for $4. The big canister could probably fill my jar 10 times. Now my son can take an oatmeal bath every time and it doesn’t have to break the bank!

 

 

3 responses »

  1. I use the Aveeno lotion for Ben, the one with the dark blue lid and that helps, also, I know they say this doesn’t work, or maybe its not good for eczema, but I put Vaseline on his cheeks, and it literally works wonders for him.

    Reply
    • I use the lotion as well on Finn and of course hydrocortisone cream. I also really like to use Boudreaux’s Baby Butt Smooth Dry Skin Ointment. It works great to keep the moisture in.

      Reply
  2. I love these type of how-to posts where people share their knowledge and show economical home remedies! Thanks for clearing up the “oatmeal bath” mystery. And for the photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

