RSS Feed

And the journey begins.

Well Hi there! I guess I should start off my introducing myself and let you know how my journey began.

My name is Paris and I am relatively new to the crochet world. As a stay at home mom things can get a little boring around here so I decided to try crocheting. First you should probably know that I actually started crocheting about 2 1/2-3 years ago. For some reason I thought I could just pick up any crochet hook and any yarn that looked pretty and crochet a masterpiece! I was sorely mistaken. The first thing I tried to crochet was a pair of slipper socks. I know what you are thinking… “Why oh why would you start with that??” Well, I like to dive into things. The learning process usually bores me and I end up trying something way to hard for my current skill level. These slippers were definitely way too hard. Well actually they weren’t exactly hard, I just didn’t follow directions. I didn’t use the weight yarn the pattern called for or the hook size. The biggest thing I probably did wrong was not check my gauge (something I hate to do but is sometimes necessary). So, the slippers that were supposed to fit my women’s size 8 foot were too big for my husband’s size 13 foot. OOPS!! I was so frustrated I quit. I then tried knitting a scarf which turned out cute but knitting was just not for me. The hooks, needles, and yarn went into the craft trunk and I didn’t touch any of it again for about another year and a half or so. Then I decided loom knitting a hat would be fun. I went out and bought a round loom set and preceded to loom knit a cute hat for my 2 year old. I knitted a few more hats and got bored with the repetition and decided to try a scarf. That turned out great as well but it still wasn’t exactly what I was looking for in a hobby. So again the yarn and looms went into the craft trunk and were not touched again for probably another year. Some really big changes happened in our lives and we moved from Las Vegas to Oklahoma City. After spending a couple weeks bored out of my mind while my husband was working long hours I decided I would try crocheting again. Guess what I tried to crochet? Yes…sigh…. a slipper sock. After searching for a pattern that called for the type of yarn I already had and a hook size I had, I made this. 🙂

Pretty cute if I do say so my self! With this one slipper my love for crochet was born and my journey through the world of crochet began!

Since then (Mid August 2011) I have crocheted many things. Here are a some of my favorites. Enjoy!
       

     

I have a few other really cute items but I can not show you them yet because they are gifts that I haven’t given.

My goal with this blog to help others find their love for crochet or maybe just to motivate someone to find a hobby of their own that they love as much as I love crocheting. I am by no means an expert of any kind but hopefully I can teach you what I know and the rest we can learn together. Over future posts I will be blogging about great tutorials or teaching videos, awesome patterns, tips and techniques, and of course my new projects. I am currently working on something really cute and hope to have that posted in the next few days. Thank you for following me on my journey and if there is anything you would like to read about or any questions you may have please let me know. Subscribe, comment, all that good stuff.

Happy Crocheting!

5 responses »

  1. Hooray for crocheting! Super proud of you for finally doing this! The world will be a better place with your amazing crafts out there for everyone to see and for people to learn from you!! XOXOX

    Lovey you
    Sarah

    Reply
  2. Awesome! I too have a problem with starting the really big projects and jumping in too fast. I still have a sweater that I have maybe 1/3 the way knitted and I don’t know if I’ll ever have time to finish it! Of course, lately, I’m having a hard time keeping up with the need for baby booties – all you breeding cousins out there, I blame you! Hurray for crafts!

    Reply
    • Yea I can not stand big projects… Maybe one day I will have the patience to do one… But I do not see that happening in the near future. I also hate repeat projects with is sadly why I haven’t finished my skull scarf… That and there is something about it that bothers me… A Lot. I can’t quite pin point what it is yet. Something just seems wrong with it.. And yes… Hurray for crafts!!

      Reply
  3. I used to know the basics of crocheting when I was a child, maybe 7 or 8. I used to do it with my mom. She has since been diagnosed with late stage early alzheimer’s and is the shadow of someone I used to know. I have recently begun daydreaming of crocheting again. Weird, but I feel like that is one memory (there werent an incredible amount) that was so fun. Even though she won’t understand it, or even recognize me, I have a dream of visiting her at her nursing home and wrapping her up in a blanket I’ve made. It would mean a lot to me. Problem…. I don’t know where to start! I don’t remember any of it! I’ve started checking into youtube tutorials but those are really hit or miss. Any suggestions as to where to start?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

