RSS Feed

Ear candy

So Pinterest is kind of my new web addiction. For those of you who still don’t know what it is, it is a site where you can create virtual pin boards for almost anything you can imagine. You can find tutorials on many different things, get ideas for crafts or decor, recipes, or just about anything else you can imagine. If you haven’t already check it out. It is by invite only so if you don’t have a friend that can invite you leave me your email and I will do the best I can to send you an invite.

Ok enough about that. While cruising around on there I ran across this and fell in love! Pretty Ear buds?!? As much as I love the signature white iPhone ear buds I really need something a little snazzier. And of course I am always looking to save a buck so something super cute that I could do my self and do super cheap was right up my alley! Now let me just say I am completely new to this tutorial thing so I am going to do my best.

Here is the finished product! Pretty yarn wrapped ear buds!

I had more pics that were much better but…. there is a slight problem with the driver for my camera so I had to use my phone…  😦    I will have to go on the mad hunt for the disc later.

First you will need:

A pair of ear buds

a clip board or something else you can use to hold down the ear buds

your fave color yarn ( prefer the kind that changes colors) about 3 times the length of the ear buds. I like to use Sugar N’ Cream yarn because it’s a small ball and you don’t have to cute a piece you can just work with it as is.

scissors

and E-6000 glue or clear nail polish

First clip your ear buds to the clip board like so….. you can start on the bottom like I did or on the top like in the picture. (I forgot to take a picture when I started)

You want to tie the yarn as close to the top as you can. Leave a tail about 2-3 inches hanging down and pull the long piece to the side.

Now you will start tying knots similar to square knots. I will explain how to do it but here is another tutorial on how to do it. It’s basically like those cute little friendship bracelets we all made when we were kids. Well at least us girls 😉

You will take the long piece of yarn and put it under the cord and the little tail of yarn. leaving a little loop of yarn on the left side.

Then you will bring the yarn over the cord and through the loop you made on the left side. pull a little and you will end up with something that looks like this.

Then you will pull it tight and a continue to do this over and over again. While you do this you will start to notice a little “staircase” or spiral starting to form. That’s exactly what you want. It should look like this.

Keep going and going till you cover the whole length of the ear buds. You may need to tie off and start again for the fork or “Y” where the cord splits into two for the ear pieces. You can either choose one side and continue all the way up to the ear piece and then just start again on the other ear or you can stop all together and do the ear pieces separately.

When you stop do the last knot really tightly then snip the end of the yard off. Cover with a dot of clear polish or E-6ooo glue to keep it from fraying or unraveling.

Also, you can use embroidery floss for this. It’s just going to take a bit longer than yarn. If you have never made these knots before I suggest you practice on a cheap pair or try to make a bracelet first because once the knots are on there tight it is a pain to get off. I learned this when I picked a yarn with a particularly ugly color combination. It didn’t look ugly in the skein but when it was on the ear phones I hated it.

Well there you have it. My first tutorial. Hopefully you were able to understand this and I will get better as we go. If all went well you now have the coolest ear buds on the block and people will be asking you where you got them every time you wear them out! I hope you enjoyed this and Happy Knotting!!

3 responses »

  1. This is a great idea! I hate that the darn things always tangle.

    Reply
  2. Love your earbuds. Would like to check out pinterest. I’m judy33873at gmail.com and my blog is http://oakhillcreations.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

