RSS Feed

Birchbox Feb 2012

First I want to say sorry for being MIA the last week and a half. I have been busy and really haven’t done much crocheting. I did do a couple of thing I plan to put up on the blog soon. I also have been brain storming and researching for a little easy shop I am thinking of opening. That is all still up in the air but because of all that a couple things have been put on the back burner. I am hoping to make a decision on what I want to do soon. So again Sorry and now on to what I am really here to talk about!

Beauty Samples!!

Samples are one of my favorite things. Especially DELUXE sized beauty samples! I love getting to try something out before you have to commit to he price tag and or course I just love free things! Who doesn’t?!?!  Just in case you haven’t heard of BirchBox before, it is a beauty sampling subscription. It is $10 a month for a membership and every month they send you 4-5 deluxe sized beauty samples. Sometimes you even get full sized samples. Last month I got a full sized Stila Smudge stick in Peacock worth $20. That alone made the box worth it. I have received items from Jouer, Pangea, Origins, Incoco, Benefit, Lavanilla, and Redkin just to name a few. Some months haven’t been as great as other but the good months make up for the not so great months. I have been a member since September 2011. I have only had one problem with shipping. My box got lost in the mail and the promptly sent me out another box. Because of that I ended up with two boxes that month. And it was one of the months with a full size Lavanilla Body Butter in it! So if you still aren’t convinced I plan to blog each month about what is in the box and maybe you will decide to become a member too! If you are convinced here is my referral link.

http://www.birchbox.com?raf=dnkgk

So… here is this month’s box.

When it arrives it looks something like this. And let me just tell you this pink box puts a smile on my face every single month!

When you open the pink box you get this smaller box inside. I now have like 6 or so of these and reuse them to send out gifts or put make up in or store my hoards of samples. LOL

Take the top off and inside you will find a card with a little description of the theme of the month. This month was Spotlight.

On the back of the card it gives you a description for all the items in you box with the price if you were to buy it full size.

Every month they wrap everything up so you feel like you are actually getting a gift. I like it. It’s like a little treat to my self every month.

So here are the products that were inside.

A cute little pink heart nail file. Perfect to just throw in your purse for emergencies and what not.

Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant

When you open the box it is a bottle inside with some powder in it. Directions say to pour a small amount into your palm and add water to make a paste. Then, scrub on your face for 1 minute. I thought this was pretty neat and I am excited to try it.

Juice Beauty Blemish Clearing Serum and in the black tube (I don’t know why I didn’t take a separate pic) is Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tint. Now I can’t speak for Juice Beauty because this is a completely new line to me but Jouer makes some fabulous lip products that I have received in other boxes. I am considering using some of my Birch Box points to buy the Birchbox pink lip gloss we got samples of a couple months ago. I will explain BirchBox points at the end.

Now here is the product I am completely excited about. EYE ROCK Designer Liner.

they are single-use stick-on liner strips. For what ever reason I can not perfect the cat eye liner. I would be tempted to buy these if they work and look good. I am very excited to try these as well. I don’t know if these intrigue you as much as they do me but BB introduced me to nail strips and I completely fell in love. So, maybe it will be the same with these? Here are pics of the package, what the strips look like (4 different ones) and the directions.

These are a little thick and dramatic but could still be cool and I know they have different styles.

 

Lastly there was a little bonus in this box. They are spotlighting a band called Green River Ordinance. They give you a link to get some of their songs for free. It says on the card 6 songs but when I downloaded then it was 7 and they were pretty good. Something I would definitely listen to so this was a nice little treat.

 

So that was what was in the my box this month. Here is the price run down.

EYE ROCK – full size is 2 packs of 4 for $13. They gave me one pack of 4  so thats $6.50

Dermalogica Daily Microfoliant – full size 2.6 OZ $50. Sample .45 oz $8.65

Jouer Luminizing Moisture Tine – Full size 1.7 oz $38. Sample .07 oz $1.56

Juice Beauty BlemishClearing Serum – Full size 2 oz $29. Sample .17 oz $2.46

Nail File- Didn’t have a price or name so I am just saying $.50

7 mp3 downloads at $.99-$1.29 a piece

 

Grand total of samples……….. $26.67 (with songs at $.99 a piece)

 

I am also a member of another beauty sampling company. I am not really happy with them right now and will probably be canceling this month. I have yet to receive me January box and have already been billed for February. I am currently waiting for a response from them. When I do get that box I will be posting that as well. I am thinking of trying another company. If you have any suggestions let me know.

I don’t see my self canceling Birchbox any time soon. I am pretty happy with them. Some people complain about the products they receive. I wouldn’t mind seeing more makeup but I like being able to try different things so right now I am not complaining. I hope you enjoyed getting a peek at my February samples and I can’t wait for next month.

Leave a Reply

