RSS Feed

DIY FOAMING HAND SOAP

This one is so easy that I can’t believe it has taken me this long to do it or that I didn’t think of it my self. It’s a helpful money-saving tip that is floating all over the inter webs and Pinterest of course. πŸ™‚

Okay are you ready??

Here is what you need.

  • Some liquid soap. (make sure it’s something semi see through.. You don’t want to use the creamy lotion based kind it doesn’t work the same)
  • an old foaming soap bottle or your whatever you like just make sure it has the foaming pump
  • a measuring spoon
  • water

Easy enough right??

Well I went to the store and picked up some of my favorite hand soap.

Mrs. Meyers Lavender Liquid Hand Soap. $3.98 a bottle at Wal-mart. I love this stuff. It just smells so heavenly! You can use what ever liquid soap you have or even dish soap works. Especially if you will be keeping this in the kitchen. Dish soap will cut through grease better. Mine was for my bathroom.

Now I had a couple foaming soap bottles already. And one had just run out so it was a perfect time to do this.

If you want you can peel the label off. When you do, it may have a sticky residue. You can soak it in hot soapy water for 10-15 min and then scrub it off or use some rubbing alcohol. You may need to scrub a while especially if you are using my brand. It’s not your regular paper sticker and the glue is on there really good.

After I was done I had a nice fresh bottle to work with.

Now you want to put about 3 tablespoons of your liquid soap in the container you can use a little more if you want but I wouldn’t use any less.

I added a couple extra pumps for good measure. Tip…. if you are using the same liquid soap as me then 7 pumps is about a tablespoon. You can just pump it right into the bottle and not worry about measuring.

Next fill the rest of the bottle with water. Make sure you leave enough room to put the pump in so it won’t over flow.

Finally put the top on and gently turn the bottle upside down and right side up will it all mixes together. You don’t want to shake it and create a bunch of bubbles inside. When you are done it should look like this. Β πŸ™‚

And now you have made your own foaming hand soap!!

Since you are only using a small amount of liquid soap you can see how much $$ you are going to save. Here is my bottle of Mrs. Meyers after I made my foaming soap. Clearly I am going to be able to make several more bottles.

So I will probably get about 6-8 bottles full from this one $3.98 bottle of soap. You can make this even cheaper depending on what soap you buy. But when you won’t have to buy for a while you can afford to splurge a little and get what you really want!

❀

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

