RSS Feed

Day 3- Eating at home- Crockpot meatballs and gravy.

HI everyone! Day 3 was delicious and beyond easy to make. Last night we had Meatballs and gravy over egg noodles. I got the original recipe here but changed it up a little bit. So here is what I did.

You will need….

  • a bag of frozen meatballs (you can make these your self if you want)
  • 2 packets of dry turkey gravy mix
  • 2 can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 2 cups of water
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp basil leaves
  • 4 bay leaves
  • about 1/2-1 tbsp onion powder (I am infamous for not measuring)
  • and a sprinkle of garlic salt (again with the not measuring)

Oh an egg noodles…. I forgot to put them in the group picture. They were sad and felt left out so I gave them their own picture.  🙂

Now the original recipe called for Thyme and after searching my herbs and spices cabinet, thyme was no where to be found. So I pulled up this handy little herb substitution chart and found out that basil, marjoram, oregano, or savory (??) can be substituted for thyme. I decided to go with a little basil AND oregano. You will also notice that I doubled the amount of ingredients for the sauce and the bag of meatballs is slightly less then 2 lbs. I am glad I did all this because it was just enough sauce and there were only two meatballs left after we ate. The kids loved this and had a couple servings!!

OK back to the recipe.

Put the meatball in the crock pot… yes frozen!

In a separate bowl put all the ingredients except the bay leaves.

Then with a whisk mix it all up till it’s all combined. Then add the bay leaves on top so they don’t get broken up while mixing and are easier to find an not eat when it’s all done cooking.

You can now pour everything right on top of the meatball and give it a little stir to make sure they are all covered in the sauce.

Now cover and cook on LOW for 3-4 hours… I did 4 hours. Make sure it is LOW, you don’t want this to burn.

 

After a couple hours I gave it a stir every 30-40 min. I don’t know that you have to do this but I did. When it is done it will look like this…  YUMM!About 20 min till it is done cook your egg noodles, you could even have this over mashed potatoes or rice. Serve right on top of the noodles and enjoy! (I sprinkled some pepper on mine)So this is a really easy meal to make and a crowd pleaser. You could even double or triple for a potluck. Let me know if you try it and what you think. 🙂
One response »

  1. Wow that looks really good 🙂 I think the girls will even eat this one

    Reply

Leave a Reply

