RSS Feed

Day 5 or Eating at Home – Crock Pot Italian Chicken over rice

I am sorry I did not post yesterday. I was busy finishing up a crocheting project…

I was also busy watching the news for the tornado warnings and watches.  So, since I didn’t get the recipe up yesterday you get two today!

This crock pot chicken recipe is SUPER yummy. I ate the left overs for lunch yesterday!

Here is what you need.

  • 2-4 chicken breast or whatever kind of chicken you like. (I used 3 breast pieces)
  • 8 oz package of cream cheese
  • Juice of 1-2 limes
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 1-2 tsp of minced garlic
  • 1 package of Italian dressing MIX (the dry stuff)
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • pepper to your liking
  • 2 cans of cream of chicken
  • rice

First you need to zest your lime. I couldn’t find my micro-planer so I used the small side of my cheese grater.

How much lime juice you put in it is completely up to you. I put the juice of 2 limes but we really like the taste of lime so it’s you call.

Now put everything in the crock pot except the rice and the chicken. I like to cube the cream cheese to help it melt faster.

Put the cover on and turn the crock pot on LOW. Let this cook for 15-20 min then give it a good stir to combine.

Once it is all combined you can add the chicken right on top.

Cover and cook on LOW for 4-6 hours. Here is where you get to make another personal preference choice. After about 2 hours you can pull the chicken out and cut it into strips or you can do what I did.  About 30 min before we were ready to eat I got my rice going in my rice cooker and pulled the chicken out and shredded it with two forks.

Once it is all shredded add the chicken to the crock pot and stir to coat all the chicken and let it sit while the rice is cooking.

Just a little tip on the rice. If you use a rice cooker, I like to add some olive oil right on top this helps give it good flavor and it won’t stick to the pan. Also I sprinkle garlic salt or powder and pepper all over the top. Then cover and turn on. This equals really tasty rice that is good all by itself.

Once the rice is done just serve with the chicken mixture on top and you are done!

YUMMO!!

Here is my oldest son enjoying his dinner. He gushed about how delicious it was!

This recipe is really easy and can be modified for more or less people. For my family. The three chicken breasts was more than enough to feed everyone till they were full and have left overs for at least 2 people. I think this would also be good in enchiladas or tacos or even over mashed potatoes.

I hope you enjoyed this recipe and stick around because I am going to be posting a delicious salad recipe shortly. 🙂

One response »

  1. Ok when did he get that big? Dang. That looks yummy I have never tried anything with cream cheese in it but with ranch its the same thing in a way so ill have to try this. Thank you 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

