RSS Feed

Day 6 of E@H – Pear, Walnut, and Blue Cheese Salad

Yesterday was a toughy. I realized that I didn’t have anything to make for dinner. I mean I might have been able to pull something together but it would have been grilled cheese or Kraft macaroni. It was very tempting to just pick something up or order pizza especially because we have been glued to the TV making sure there aren’t any tornadoes about to attack us. EEK! But I didn’t want to give up just yet. So when I knew we had a while before the SCARY storm was near I decided to head over to the Sunflower Market for something for dinner. After all the hearty meals we have had this week I was really in the mood for a salad. So I decided to whip up one of my favorite salads.

Here is what you need…

  • Some green and red leaf lettuce (you can use spinach too)
  • Blue cheese crumbles
  • 1/2 tsp oregano
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1 tbsp stone ground or course ground mustard
  • 1-2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 large pears
  • chopped walnuts (not pictured)

 

Wash and chop up your lettuce into bite sized pieces or however you like your lettuce.

Halve or quarter your pears and core them. Then thinly slice and put it right on top of the lettuce.

 

You can either buy the already chopped walnuts and then you can skip the next step or if your local market sells the halved walnuts in bulk you can just coarsely chop them and add those right on top of the pears.

In a separate bowl add the rest of the ingredients except the blue cheese….

Then WHISK WHISK WHISK!

Once it is all combined pour it right on top of the lettuce, pears, and walnuts and if you are like me, you can toss the salad with your boney hands.  😀

Keep tossing until it is completely coated. I made a large salad sense is was for the whole family and was a main course If you make a smaller salad you may want to start with half the dressing and add more as needed. Once completely coated add the crumbled blue cheese on top. You can add as little or as much as you would like.

And there you have it. A delicious salad that doesn’t leave you feeling guilty when you have seconds. 🙂

You can have this with your favorite beverage or cocktail.. Last night mine was a Bloody Mary extra spicy with extra olives! YUM YUM!!

This is really tasty and filling and every time I make it I get the double thumbs up from my husband. So try it out and let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading!

 

One response »

  1. That salad looks yummy! I’m keeping this and making it soon 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

